Unlooked for- an original poem by avsongbird

 

Unlooked for

By avsongbird

 

He unwrapped me like a present.

Peeled back a layer at a time.

Laid me bare and vulnerable before him,

Not my body, but my mind.

Shined a light on my deepest secrets.

He brought warmth into my soul.

Before he was done I’d lost all sense

Of the illusion of self-control.

 

I’ll admit he was not asked for,

He was not sought out, nor was he invited.

He came into my life out of nowhere,

And all at once, my heart was ignited.

 

With the passing of years, the fears came crawling back in,

All the whispers I heard before,

And I found myself holding my breath each time

I saw him walk past the door.

Would today be the day he walked through it?

Would today be the last day he stayed?

But every year he walks past that door,

Every year, his vow remade.

About avsongbird

I'm a housewife, an amateur writer and blogger, and the stepmother of three boys. I have four dogs. I love animals, I love to garden, and I love to crochet. I love movies, music, and books. I love to cook. I'm open-minded and creative and imaginative, and I'm an avid reader. I find inspiration in practically everything, and I love nothing more than to inspire such things in others, if I can.
This entry was posted in art, blog, blogger, blogging, blogs, creative, creative arts, creative writing, creativity, expression, inspiration, inspirational, life, love, motivation, motivational, original, passion, poetry, romance, video, vlog, vlogger, vlogging, vlogs, writer, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

