consuming fire- an original poem by avsongbird

 

 

Consuming Fire

An original poem by avsongbird

 

Don’t you give me those eyes

I know your game.

No one else in the world

Makes me feel that way.

With just a look you

Set my soul on fire.

I never knew I was

Capable of such desire.
Your eyes the match

Your lips the spark

Your touch the gasoline.

And now I know

Just how consuming

Your obsession can be.

 

I remember the day

It all became too much.

I’d been turned to ashes

By the heat of your touch.

I saw my life burned down to nothing

Scattered to the winds.

And I knew

I’d never be the same again.

 

So I pressed a kiss

Against your shoulder-blade.

I watched you sleeping,

How I wanted to remember

You that way.

You looked so peaceful lying there

That I’ll admit I thought twice.

Then I kissed you one last time

And faded away in the night.

 

Now you’re standing there

Giving me those eyes.

And I know you know

I need you still,

Deep down inside.

And I try to smile

And pretend it isn’t killing me.

Because I know all too well

Your fire was

Much too much for me.

 

Don’t you give me those eyes

I know your game.

No one else in the world

Makes me feel this way.

With just a look you

Set my soul on fire.

I never knew I was

Capable of such desire.

 

Your eyes the match

Your lips the spark

Your touch the gasoline.

And now I know

Just how consuming

Your obsession can be.

About avsongbird

I'm a housewife, an amateur writer and blogger, and the stepmother of three boys. I have four dogs. I love animals, I love to garden, and I love to crochet. I love movies, music, and books. I love to cook. I'm open-minded and creative and imaginative, and I'm an avid reader. I find inspiration in practically everything, and I love nothing more than to inspire such things in others, if I can.
This entry was posted in angst, creative, creative arts, creative writing, creativity, life, love, love story, original, poetry, video, writer, writing, youtube, youtuber. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

